Governors help the school senior managers to set the course for the school over the next few years. They also check that the headteacher and his colleagues are leading the school well. They approve the school policies and budget.

Our current governors:

  • Rev S Gregg (Chair of Governors)
  • Ms R Harrison
  • Ms S Naaz
  • Mr S Readyhough
  • Ms P Smith
  • Ms R Tyas
  • Ms J Wilcox
  • Mrs J Tiller (Executive Headteacher)
  • Mr R Humphreys (Acting Head of School)
  • Mr M Akhtar
  • Mr A Hartshorn

If you would like to contact our governors, please write to the school : Chair of Governors. Buttershaw Business & Enterprise College, Reevy Road West, Bradford, BD6 3PX.

No governor has relevant financial interests.


Care, Learning and Skills Committee – (Chair – Mrs R Tyas)

This committee oversees the provision we make to ensure that students are safe and successful.  It focuses on:

  • Student safety and welfare
  • Curriculum and teaching quality


Standards Committee – (Chair – Rev S Gregg)

This committee oversees the leadership of achievement, ensuring that student progress and outcomes are an absolute priority for the school and ensuring that the school is taking action to improve as necessary.


Finance & Personnel Committee – (Chair – Mr S Readyhough)

This committee ensures that the school acts within the law, sets a balanced, valued for money budget that supports school improvement and manages its staff well.


Name Type of Governor Date Appointed


Term Ends Attendance this year


Rev S Gregg (Chair of Governors) Trust June 2014 June 2018 New (3)
Ms S Naaz Staff September 2015 September 2019 3
Mr S Readyhough Co-Opted April 2015 April 2019 3
Ms K Towers Trust January 2016 January 2020 New
Ms R Tyas Trust September 2012 September 2016 2
Ms J Wilcox Trust June 2016 June 2020 New
Mr R Hughes (BBEC Headteacher) 3
Ms R Harrison Parent February 2016 February 2020
Ms P Smith Parent February 2016 February 2020

Full Governing Body and Finance & Personnel Attendance Register 2016-2017 : fgb-fp-attendance-register-2016-2017

Full Governing Body Attendance Register 2013-2016: register-of-attendance-fgb-2013-to-2016

Declarations of Interests of Governors serving on the BBEC Governing Body 2016/17: DECLARATION OF INTERESTS FEB 2017